The right of reply

Enough is enough. People who proclaim to fight for freedom of expression and free media but censors other's legitimate reply based on their whims and fancy, must realise that on the internet, they cannot suppress peoples' legitimate right to reply and express contrarian views. This blog welcomes all views. ~ Ellese

Teresa and nutgraph

Leave a comment

I’ve not been blogging for a while. My last bastion of hope for PRs free site ie nutgraph has been blown to smithereens since they censor me many times pertaining to Allah issue. Why can’t they allow free flow of debates. I have not breached their rules (save for one post to depict my disgust) which they have allowed others pro Allah supporters to publish. I will need to find the time to retort and record it. PR sites have an appalling record on allowing contrarian views to be published.

Instead I have been spending a lot of time on Facebook. Ill go to twitter thereafter. Since I have many Malay and non Malay friends, I had to handle the message delivery less aggressively. I’ve touched mainly on the kalimah Allah issue which is very dear to me and the attack on our religious and kesultanan institutions. Other issues which I touch are issues which I’ve deliberated many times over the blogs including social cohesion point, education, water etc.

But its sad to say we’re losing more and more common grounds. The gap between the races here is widening by the day. We’ved become too partisans.

A case in point is on Teresa’s CNY video. It was the worst festivity video ever. Where we normally celebrate Raya Christmas deepavali and CNY with spirit of togetherness, unity and civility, she crossed the sacred line by insulting a large group of people. She is starting a truely despicable festivity precedent.

When I saw her video during CNY, I told myself what a despicable video she is doing. I force myself to see the whole video with the English subtitle and it was absolutely boring that I nodded off a few times. My view of the video based on english subtitle is that it doesn’t insult the Malay and Islam in general. It just insult a large group of people.

Then came the unexpected. I expected the aggressive response but the slap call was unexpected. That cross the line for me. It was not warranted as its more of an insult to a group of people. It doesn’t offend the religion so the call for violence was way off. If its a true insult of Islam then rm1500 is an insult to me. But its not as I see it.

Thus I condemn both the unknown NGO as well as Teresa video. But this is where to my surprise I see the narrowing common ground among many of my non Muslims friends. Some can’t even appreciate our unique festivity culture that only exists in malaysia. They denied Theresa was wrong. Then as usual I say that if Umno and others come out with insult ads for Raya, Christmas etc, is this acceptable? Really I’m really disappointed. At the end a few Chinese friends realised that. But some are just too partisan.

The implication is big. We can never close the gulf between Muslims and non Muslims. This is worrying. The Allah issue will be explosive. They always think its an Umno issue (due to incessant disgusting misreporting of the pro pr media) and thus do not even want to recognise there’s a conflicting practice. Always therefore argue without parity. I have thus no choice to push it further. This is the tipping point for me. I’ll fight to the end for this. The time for compromise is not now. Not when they belittle and totally looked down on those having this views. I dread where we are heading.

Leave a Reply

