The right of reply

Enough is enough. People who proclaim to fight for freedom of expression and free media but censors other's legitimate reply based on their whims and fancy, must realise that on the internet, they cannot suppress peoples' legitimate right to reply and express contrarian views. This blog welcomes all views. ~ Ellese

Understanding political philosophy

Leave a comment

I’ve been wanting to write on a new topic but needed to make a point on the false racist argument put forth by many (if not all) DAP supporters first. If not for the dishonest and incongruent manner of how they have argued, it would not have been protracted. And for this write, I call for honest sensible argument.

As many who knows me, my daughter is studying in year 2 in our much criticised sekolah menengah kebangsaan. I’ve written previously that to my joy the school offered French classes and both, her and her sibling, are enjoying learning extra language. But now another exciting thing is her involvement in another extra curriculum activity which require a read of “understand political philosophy” by Mel Thompson.

Now for a fourteen year old to understand Plato Rawls Dworkin Locke and even Hobbes are not easy. If I were her at her age I would have baulked reading it. Just can’t comprehend and make sense of it. But she asked a number of deep questions which had many philosophical underpinnings of a number of our current politics. So I started giving it a preliminary read. Though its meant as an overall view, it reminded me of the things I learned in Jurisprudence during my degree. And it too explained to an extent why I’ve approach my write the way I’ve written. Man, I think whatever we argue now have been argued before.

So what I intend to do is to lay this out, pose some questions and put in my views where I think is of assistance. Hope you will enjoy it.

PS: ill continue with a separate post.

Leave a Reply

